Support and Sadness:

The last few weeks I have been browsing Facebook and I am constantly seeing posts in people fighting depression. Girls saying they feel worthless; crying out a desire to end it all. Wishing, that maybe, they never existed at all; girls who are so desperate to be heard that they blast it on social media. Then, there are those who suffer alone. Who are afraid to say anything at all but spend their nights on the floor wishing God would let them sink into it.

 I came across a few friends that expressed these feelings of desperation in high school. In some of these situations I could not be the person to help them. However, I showed them no mercy. I blamed them, accused them of seeking attention, of pretending. I would say that if they really wanted to they would have done it. I was right, they were seeking attention. Begging for anyone to care, needing desperately to be heard.

We need people to care. To love us and to hear us. For our words and our heart to matter. We desire to be enough for someone. We need attention, for someone to look at us and care what we have to say. 

If you have suffered then stand up and help others who are now where you were. If you are fortunate enough to have never struggled with these thoughts then find mercy in your heart. Find empathy. Treat others with love. We all need people who tell us it is going to be okay. We need someone to care. We need someone to remind us that they are here and to remind us where our value lies. No matter what the case, remember that our value comes through Christ. If we are proud or if we feel worthless; remember that there is a God who loves us. In him, we find value and strength. No one else can fulfill us. No one else can make us feel complete.

2 Corinthians 12:9 “But he said to me ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore. I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christs power may rest on me.”

